Marshall Of Rock

Revolver Golden Gods Awards announce Rush, Korn, Pantera, Yngwie Malmsteen, Dee Snider/Black Veil Brides and Trivium as latest additions to show

by on Mar.13, 2012, under LINKS, ROCK NEWS, TV ROCK NEWS, VIDEO

New honorees, presenters, performers, and special guests have been announced for the fourth annual Revolver Golden Gods Award Show.

The Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Xbox LIVE, will go to prog-rock pioneers RUSH, who will release their highly anticipated 19th studio album, Clockwork Angels, this year on Roadrunner Records. (Previous honorees include hard-rock and metal legends Motley Crue, Lemmy Kilmister of Motorhead, and Ozzy Osbourne.) The award will be presented by Jack Black and Kyle Gass of Tenacious D, whose new record, Rize of the Fenix, hits stores on May 15. Rush’s Neil Peart commented, “We are honored and delighted to receive this honor—especially because it will be presented by Jack and Kyle. Our ‘lifetimes’ are not over yet, and we dearly hope our ‘achievements’ are not either, so I suppose you could say that to us this is the ‘So Far, So Good’ award.” Of presenting the award, Black commented, “Rush was the most impressive band, musically, when I was just learning about rock. Weirdly, they got your body moving in interpretive-dancing ways, but it was still aggressive. Their stuff was just so complex and so tasty!”

Right before the official start of the show, Pantera will celebrate the 20th anniversary of their landmark album, Vulgar Display of Power, with the worldwide debut of their first music video in 12 years, for the previously unreleased song, “Piss,” from the Vulgar recording sessions. Pantera drummer Vinnie Paul commented, “‘Piss’ is the only unheard complete Pantera track in existence. It was recorded at the same time as Vulgar Display of Power and it’s 100 percent Pantera with attitude and our signature groove! After mixing it, I can’t believe it didn’t make the record! So it’s 2012 and 20 years later and new Pantera music has been delivered. Cheers!”

Adding to the festivities, The 2012 Revolver Golden Gods Awards Show will feature one-of-a-kind special performances and collaborations. Newly announced performers include Korn, who are nominated for multiple Golden Gods awards. “Revolver rocks! We are psyched to be nominated for Album of the Year—looking forward to rocking the house, too!” said Korn frontman Jonathan Davis. Heavy-metal heavyweights Trivium have also been added to this jam-packed bill, as well as legendary guitar shredder Yngwie Malmsteen, who will open the show, playing “The Star Spangled Banner,” alongside a full military color guard. Finally, Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider is set to appear with previously announced performers Black Veil Brides for a performance of his band’s ’80s anthem “I Wanna Rock.”

The live concert will also include Marilyn Manson, who appears on the cover of the latest issue of Revolver, available online here; iconic Grammy-winning guitarist Slash featuring Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators; Evanescence; and SIXX:A.M., featuring Nikki Sixx of Motley Crue, acclaimed rock producer and songwriter James Michael, and DJ Ashba of Guns N’ Roses, in their first performance in almost four years.

Also on April 11, The Grammy Museum, next door to Club Nokia, will open its new exhibit Golden Gods: The History of Heavy Metal. Mounted in coordination with Revolver, the exhibit will feature never-before-displayed artifacts including instruments, stage props, handwritten lyrics, clothing, and costumes, alongside original album artwork, posters, and live-performance and interview footage. The exhibit will also feature a variety of interactive displays.

Cast Your votes now:

The nominees for the 2012 Revolver Golden Gods Awards presented by Epiphone are:

Best Guitarist:
Jinxx and Jake Pitts (Black Veil Brides)
Zoltan Bathory and Jason Hook (Five Finger Death Punch)
Willie Adler and Mark Morton (Lamb Of God)
Robb Flynn and Phil Demmel (Machine Head)
Dave Mustaine and Chris Broderick (Megadeth)
Matt Heafy and Corey Beaulieu (Trivium)

Best Drummer:
Charlie Benante (Anthrax)
Jeremy Spencer (Five Finger Death Punch)
Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighter)
Chris Adler (Lamb of God)
Brann Dailor (Mastodon)
Tomas Haake (Meshuggah), Batteries for Everything!

Best Vocalist:
Sebastian Bach
Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides)
James Durbin
Amy Lee (Evanescence)
Ivan Moody (Five Finger Death Punch)
Jonathan Davis (Korn)

Album of the Year:
Anthrax – Worship Music
Evanescence – Evanescence
Five Finger Death Punch – American Capitalist
Foo Fighters – Wasting Light
Korn – The Path of Totality
Lamb of God – Resolution

Best Live Band:
Avenged Sevenfold
Foo Fighters
Guns N’ Roses
Judas Priest

Most Metal Athlete:
Gina Carano (MMA fighting)
Brian Deegan (pro motocross)
Evan Longoria (MLB baseball)
Dirk Nowitzki (NBA basketball)
Mitch Petrus (NFL football)
CM Punk (WWE wrestling)

Comeback of the Year:
Dream Theater
Van Halen

Riff Lord:
Scott Ian (Anthrax)
Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society)
Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters)
Munky (Korn)
Eddie Van Halen (Van Halen)

Paul Gray Best Bassist:
Frank Bello (Anthrax)
Michael Anthony (Chickenfoot)
Fieldy (Korn)
David Ellefson (Megadeth)
Nikki Sixx (Sixx:A.M.)
Wolfgang Van Halen (Van Halen)

Best International Band:
Lacuna Coil
X Japan

Most Dedicated Fans:
Asking Alexandria
Avenged Sevenfold
Black Veil Brides
Falling In Reverse

:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments for this entry

Leave a Reply