Get ready for an ELO reboot! Electric Light Orchestra is celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, and frontman Jeff Lynne will be releasing two new albums in the fall. One set will feature classic covers and the other will be a colection of rerecorded versions of some of ELO’s most popular tunes. Both releases will be released on October 9th.

‘Long Wave’ will include songs that shaped Lynne’s musical tastes when he was young. Songs such as ‘Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered,’ ‘Love Is a Many Splendored Many Thing’ and ‘Smile,’ as well as early rock-era tunes like Chuck Berry’s ‘Let It Rock,’ The Everly Brothers’ ‘So Sad’ and Roy Orbison’s ‘Running Scared’ will be included.

Lynne said in a statement: “I call this new album Long Wave because all of the songs I sing on it are the ones heard on long-wave radio when I was a kid. These songs take me back to that feeling of freedom in those days and summon up the feeling of first hearing those powerful waves of music coming in on my old crystal set.”

‘Long Wave’ track listing:
If I Loved You
So Sad
Mercy Mercy
Running Scared
Bewitched Bothered And Bewildered
At Last
Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
Let It Rock
Beyond The Sea

‘Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra’ will include 12-tracks of re-recorded ELO classics such as ‘Don’t Bring Me Down,’ ‘Do Ya,’ ‘Evil Woman’ and ‘Turn to Stone.’ A previously unheard tune titled ‘The Point of No Return’ will also be included.

‘Mr. Blue Sky’ Track listing:
Mr. Blue Sky
Evil Woman
Strange Magic
Don’t Bring Me Down
Turn To Stone
Telephone Line
Livin’ Thing
Do Ya
Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
10538 Overture
Point Of No Return


Lynne explained his reasons for re-recording ELO’s classics: “When I listen to the old versions they don’t sound the way I thought they did when I first wrote and recorded them. I wanted to use the experience I’ve gained producing records…and have a completely new try at them.” He added, “I’m not saying the old versions aren’t good [but] these new ones sound much more solid and tight.”

A concert album titled ‘ELO Live!’ and reissues of his 1990 solo effort ‘Armchair Theater’ and ELO’s 2001 ‘Zoom’ album are also slated for release in the next few months.