The Winery Dogs, who just released their new album this week, recently (July 20) took part in a live interview and acoustic performance on Masa Ito’s “Power Rock Today” radio show. Listen to the program in the YouTube clip below. The Winery Dogs, featuring Richie Kotzen (Poison, Mr. Big), drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold, Adrenaline Mob) and bassist Billy Sheehan (Talas, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth) have released an amazing album from start to finish of quality rock! It is retro, yet modern, and the power trio bring their stellar musicianship throughout. The album appeals to all rock musical tastes, and everyone who appreciates truly great music. We all know Portnoy and Sheehan’s work in America quite well, but for Kotzen, this should get him the recognition and acclaim he deserves not only for his guitar virtuosity, but his fantastic vocals. He had stints in both Mr. Big and Poison (even co-writing the hit ‘Stand’), but is now better known for his solo work in other parts of the world, including some huge popularity in Japan. This project just feels so right, and I hope it gets the recognition it deserves.

The Winery Dogs’ self-titled debut album is out now via Loud & Proud Records. The CD was mixed by Jay Ruston, who has worked with Anthrax, Adrenaline Mob, Stone Sour and Steel Panther. Sheehan previously stated about the effort: “I’m really pleased with it. Richie sang his ass off and played amazingly unique stuff, and, of course Mike annihilated on drums. [It’s a] really cool, unique record.”

In recent press releases Portnoy said, “In all of my years in this business, I’ve always been part of either a progressive band or a metal band. This is the first time I’ve been in an all-original band that’s just a rock band in the vein of Led Zeppelin or Van Halen.” He added: “It’s so refreshing to just play straight-ahead music with lots of twists. Obviously, the musicianship is great in this band, but it’s very song-oriented.”

“I am so excited about The Winery Dogs and am proud and honored to be working with two of the greatest musicians on the planet! Richie Kotzen is such an unbelievable talent, as a vocalist, guitarist and songwriter. I think The Winery Dogs will finally get him the attention and recognition that he so richly deserves. And what can be said of Billy Sheehan that hasn’t been said already? He is one the true pioneers of the instrument and a legend. I am looking forward to working with the great staff of Loud & Proud Records, some of whom I worked very closely with during their time at Roadrunner and my time with Dream Theater. I look forward to continuing that relationship with The Winery Dogs!”

In regards to how The Winery Dogs got its name, Portnoy added: “It was Richie’s name. We had a list of about 50 names. I had about 10 that I preferred over The Winery Dogs, but you know, when you’re in a band, you have to give and take and choose your battles, and Richie really, really loved this band name. So, you know, it was, like, ‘OK.’ A name is a name. If you feel that strongly about it, then go for it. So that’s who we are.”

Loud & Proud Owner & President Tom Lipsky added, “The debut by The Winery Dogs absolutely rocks and we are very excited that Loud & Proud is their label partner. This body of work showcases not only their renowned skills as musicians and vocalists, but also the depth of their talent as songwriters. Billy, Mike and Richie delivered some of the best performances of their illustrious careers and I am confident this album will be recognized as one of the truly great rock albums of the year.”

It is always fantastic to hear great musicians in any setting or playing any genre. It is amazing when three of the finest in their fields can come together to create some musical magic, and that is just what The Winery Dogs have done.

After gigs this week in Brazil and Argentina, the U.S. tour for the band kicks off August 3rd at B.B. King Blues Club and Grill in New York City. The guys will also take part in a in-store performance and signing session on Tuesday, August 6 at Vintage Vinyl in Fords, New Jersey. The Winery Dogs will also guest on the nationally syndicated radio show “Rockline” with host Bob Coburn on Wednesday, August 14 at 8:30 p.m. PT/11:30 p.m. ET. Fans are encouraged to speak with The Winery Dogs by calling 1-800-344-ROCK (7625). The show will be streamed on the “Rockline” web site for two weeks beginning the afternoon after the live broadcast.

Follow the band on Facebook and check out their official website: to connect with everything they have going on.

The band have already released three videos from the new album, ‘Elevate’, ‘Desire,’ and ‘ I’m No Angel’ which can all be seen below. I don’t know what track I like most on the album, they are all so good.

The Winery Dogs U.S. Tour Dates
Aug. 3 – New York, NY – B.B. King Blues Club and Grill
Aug. 4 – Lancaster, PA – Chameleon
Aug. 7 – Newton, NJ – Newton Theater
Aug. 8 – Chicago, IL – Reggie’s
Oct. 3 – Agoura Hills CA – The Canyon
Oct. 4 – Las Vegas, NV – Vamp’d
Oct. 5 – San Diego, CA – Ramona Mainstage
Oct. 6 – San Juan Capistrano, CA – The Coach House

The Winery Dogs track listing:
1. Elevate
2. Desire
3. We Are One
4. I’m No Angel
5. The Other Side
6. You Saved Me
7. Not Hopeless
8. One More Time
9. Damaged
10. Six Feet Deeper
11. Criminal
12. The Dying
13. Regret

DVD (limited edition, only available in Japan):
1. Elevate
2. Desire
3. I’m No Angel

Featured acoustic songs in the show:
11:27 – 15:25 “I’m No Angel”
15:40 – 21:23 “The Dying”
22:30 – 26:00 “One More Time”

Winery Dogs 2Winery Dogs first US show