Thin Lizzy are having a fantastic 2011 so far, and it’s sure to continue despite the upcoming departure of guitarist Vivian Campbell. Viv will wrap up touring with Lizzy on May 28th, then immediately head into rehearsals for the upcoming summer tour with Def Leppard. The door is open however, for Vivian to return for further tours and possible recording of new Thin Lizzy music.

“The situation as it stands with Lizzy is that they’ve very generously said that I could come and go as my schedule dictates — that they’ll find someone else to play with over the summer while I’m touring with Def Leppard, and then I’m free to come back,” Vivian said.

Regarding the possibility of taking part in the songwriting sessions for a new Thin Lizzy album, Campbell recently told AOL’s Noisecreep, “I know my heart is in the right place and I feel the same is true of Ricky Warwick. Ricky embodies a lot of the same soul and spirit that Phil Lynott had. He has a lot of the same characteristics to his personality and he’s very authentic at what he’s doing. He’s not trying to be Phil Lynott, he’s trying to be Ricky Warwick fronting Thin Lizzy. I think we’ve won over a lot of skeptics who said Thin Lizzy shouldn’t even be playing with the name Thin Lizzy… and taking it one stage further. I do think that at some point in the near future the band might want to experiment, to write new songs and see what happens.”

Richard Fortus (Guns N’ Roses, ex- Psychadelic Furs) will be the temporary replacement for Vivian Campbell for all Lizzy live shows while Vivian is back touring and recording with Def Leppard. Fortus joined the band on stage at their recent Chicago show for two songs and will appear with the band at all performance until further notice.

Here’s footage from the Chicago show on April 1st with Fortus joining in:

Thin Lizzy with Phil Lynott was a legendary and powerhouse rock band.

Now, fans will get to experience some of that greatness with the May 10 release of Thin Lizzy’s “Legends In Concert: Thunder & Lightning Tour DVD.” The DVD captures the 2nd last performance in Ireland of the 1983 Thunder And Lightning tour. Former band members Eric Bell and Brian Robertson, along with producer Nick Tauber, also relate their special memories of Phil Lynott, the iconic driving force behind one of rock’s greatest live bands. Football (Soccer) legend George Best contributes his own recollections of Thin Lizzy.

Thin Lizzy
“Legends In Concert: Thunder & Lightning Tour DVD”
Release date: May 10, 2011
1 – Intro
2 – Thunder And Lightning
3 – Baby Please Don’t Go
4 – Angel Of Death
5 – Are You Ready?
6 – Cold Sweat
7 – The Sun Goes Down
8 – Emerald
9 – Still In Love With You
10 – Rosalie
11 – Dancing In The Moonlight
12 – Whiskey In The Jar

Sade must be a big Phil Lynott and Lizzy fan. She recorded a cover version of Thin Lizzy’s “Still In Love With You” for her forthcoming greatest-hits record titled “The Ultimate Collection”, Due on May 3, the 28-track double album features classics ranging from her 1984 “Diamond Life” debut to 2000’s “Lover’s Rock” and 2010’s seventh best selling effort, “Soldier Of Love”.

Thin Lizzy guitarist Scott Gorham recently commented: “[I] thought I’d never read anything with Thin Lizzy and Sade in the same sentence.”

Sade’s cover version, as well as an awesome live recording of Thin Lizzy’s original, are both below.