Van Halen premiere new single and video, fans say it’s a re-working of 1977 song (video)

Van Halen premiere new single and video, fans say it’s a re-working of 1977 song (video)

Jan 10, 2012

Van Halen premiered their new single and video today for the track 'Tattoo.' The black & white rehearsal footage is the right fit for the band on this one, with a loose, layed back vibe. The track comes from the new album, "A Different Kind Of Truth", arriving on February 7 via Interscope. The deluxe-edition version of the effort will contain a bonus DVD featuring four brand new acoustic-performance videos titled "The Downtown Sessions" including the songs "Panama", "You And Your Blues", "You Really Got Me" and "Beautiful Girls".

It has been mentioned that some of the songs on the new album have been pulled from older material not used previously.

During Van Halen's recent concert at Café Wha? In New York City last Thursday, they debuted a song called "She's The Woman", which originally appeared on the band's 1976 demo, produced by KISS bassist Gene Simmons. That demo got Van Halen their record deal with Warner Bros. It was left off the group's 1978 debut but has been resurrected for the album.

Some hardcore VH fans have noticed that the new single 'Tattoo' sounds remarkably similar to "Down In Flames", a song the band played live in 1977 but never actually recorded for a studio album. I hear some minor similarities in the chorus, but not enough to say it is like 'Tattoo.'

Here's the new video, followed by the 1977 song "Down In Flames.' See what you think:

Van Halen also officially unveiled the cover of their new album, which we've already seen, except for the title of the album in the space where 2-7-12 was on the previous picture. 'A Different Kind Of Truth' was produced by John Shanks (Bon Jovi), Ross Hogarth (Devildriver) and the band.

"A Different Kind Of Truth" track listing:
1. Tattoo
2. She's The Woman
3. You and Your Blues
4. China Town
5. Blood and Fire
6. Bullethead
7. As Is
8. Honeybabysweetiedoll
9. The Trouble With Never
10. Outta Space
11. Stay Frosty
12. Big River
13. Beats Workin'

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.