WHOCARES: IAN GILLAN, TONY IOMMI & FRIENDS – “the greatest of heavy rock supergroups” – is releasing its debut CD single via earMUSIC on May 6th. Two brand new studio tracks called ‘Out Of My Mind’ and ‘Holy Water’ will raise funds for the rebuilding of a music school in Gyumri, Armenia.

Both Gillan and Iommi have spent a lot of time in Armenia, fallen in love with the country and the people and have dedicated a lot of work to a nation still shocked after the earthquake that struck Armenia on December 7, 1988.

The collaboration of Gillan and Iommi, who have worked together before on the Sabbath album “Born Again”, is in itself an incredible news for all rock and metal fans and will be the best of surprises to get to know who is completing the band: None other than ex-Deep Purple and Whitesnake keyboardist Jon Lord, Iron Maiden drummer Nicko McBrain, ex-Metallica bassist Jason Newsted and HIM guitarist player Mikko “Linde” Lindström are also featured on the two new songs.

WHOCARES will release “Out of My Mind” and “Holy Water” on digital download and limited-edition CD single on May 6: The CD single will also contain the video clip of “Out Of My Mind” and a 40-minute documentary that shows Gillan’s and Iommi’s involvement with the Armenia cause over the years.

Commented Gillan: “The idea came as Tony and I flew back from Yerevan together after being inspired by the enthusiasm of everyone there to get this thing done. It was brilliant working with Tony again after all these years; he makes life easy for a singer. The other guys need no introduction, do they?!”

Added Iommi: “Some twenty years ago when the call came, I thought, well at least I’ve helped, but it was going to Armenia and seeing the actual devastation caused by the earthquake that really made me realize that funds were still needed. Despite all the money that was raised last time, here was a music school doing their best, forgotten, in basic tin sheds. After the warmth and honor bestowed upon us during our visit, we just had to help make a difference and get the school rebuilt. And what better way than to hook up with some of rock’s greatest players and my old mate Ian, both an honor and a pleasure.”

The release will be available as digital download and two-track CD single plus video and 30 minute documentary. The Super Deluxe 7″ vinyl edition is limited to 1000 units worldwide.

WHOCARES recording lineup:

-Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) – Guitar
-Ian Gillan (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) – Vocals
-Jason Newsted (Metallica, Voivod, Flotsam and Jetsam) – Bass
-Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden) – Drums
-Jon Lord (Deep Purple) – Keyboards
-Mikko “Linde” Lindström (HIM) – Guitar