After a long delay which precipitated the release of an iTunes only 4 song E.P., ZZ Top will release their new full-length album titled ‘La Futura’ on Sept. 11th through American Recordings.

The album is said to be a return to the trademark raw sound of the band’s formative years via the electric blues/roots approach that typified its earliest work, while looking forward at the same time. ZZ Top’s last new studio album, ‘Mescalero,’ came out in 2003.

ZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons produced the album along with Rick Rubin. Gibbons said in a press release, “We thought long and hard about what this album should be. We wanted to recall the directness of our early stuff but not turn our backs on contemporary technology. The result of this melding of the past and the present is, of course, ‘La Futura.’”

The Spanish album title, meanwhile, maintains an early band tradition, manifested in previous albums including including ‘Tres Hombres’ (1973), ‘Fandango!’ (1975), ‘El Loco’ (1981) and ‘Degüello’ (1979).

The first four tracks from the new album: ‘I Gotsta Get Paid,’ ‘Chartreuse,’ ‘Consumption’ and ‘Over You’ were part of the digital 4 track release last month called ‘Texicali.’ ‘I Gotsta Get Paid’ was performed by the band in an prmotional ad for Jeremiah Weed bourbon and malt beverages, and was inspired by the 1990’s underground Houston rap song ’25 Lighters’ by DJ DMD with Lil’ Keke and Fat Pat.

The track ‘Flyin’ High’ was originally unveiled as a still unfinished track on the Soyuz spacecraft at the time of its launch 13 months ago. It was requested by NASA astronaut Mike Fossum, a long-time ZZ Top fan who was on board—and knew of the recording from a conversation with the band’s bassist/vocalist Dusty Hill. Another album cut, ‘It’s Too Easy Mañana,’ is a cover of a song by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings.

ZZ Top, which is now in its 42nd year with the same line-up, are currently on a tour that will take them to Russia, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Belgium, France, Switzerland and Norway. The band will return to the U.S. for a North American tour that kicks off in Bakersfield, CA. on August 14th. Look for a special rare performance at the Beacon Theatre in New York City on September 11th.

‘La Futura’ Track Listing:
1. I Gotsta Get Paid
2. Chartreuse
3. Consumption
4. Over You
5. Heartache in Blue
6. I Don’t Wanna Lose, Lose, You
7. Flyin’ High
8. It’s Too Easy Manana
9. Big Shiny Nine
10. Have a Little Mercy